Education Is is a USI campaign calling on the Irish government and the Joint Oireachtas Committee on Education and Skills to make a historic long-term decision and invest in the publicly-funded third level education model as outlined in the Cassells Report. USI know that income-contingent loan scheme is not a viable solution to third-level funding. This system will create a burden of €20,000+ debt on anyone who wishes to attend third-level education.

Education Is about bringing people together. This long-term campaign will use petitions on campuses, online petitions and action by students, parents and staff.

About USI

USI is the national representative body for the 354,000 students in third-level education on the island of Ireland. We are a membership organisation with members in affiliated students’ unions around Ireland, North and South.

Southern Region:

  • Waterford Institute of Technology, University College Cork, Cork Institute of Technology, Institute of Technology Tralee, Limerick Institute of Technology, Limerick School of Art & Design, Limerick Institute of Technology Tipperary, Carlow College, Institute of Technology Carlow and Templemore College of Further Education

Border, Midlands & Western Region:

  • National University of Ireland, Galway, Galway Mayo Institute of Technology, Galway Mayo Institute of Technology – Castlebar, Institute of Technology, Sligo, Letterkenny Institute of Technology, St.Angela’s College, Sligo, Athlone Institute of Technology, National University of Ireland, Maynooth, Dundalk Institute of Technology


  • Trinity College Dublin, Dublin City University, Dublin Institute of Technology, Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design & Technology, National College of Ireland, Institute of Technology, Tallaght, Institute of Technology Blanchardstown


  • University of Ulster, Queen’s University, Belfast, St Mary’s University College, Belfast, Stranmillis University College, Belfast, Belfast Metropolitan College, Southern Regional College, South Eastern Regional College, North Western Regional College, Northern Regional College, South Western Regional College