

Failte // Welcome

Welcome to the Student Achievement Awards Ireland 2020! While it is a different event than we had hoped and planned for, it is an honour and privilege to welcome you to our awards this evening

These awards are such an important part of our calendar each year because it gives us the opportunity to recognise the amazing

The work that each and every one of you has put into making your campuses and our society a better place is incredible.

Each of you has given your time, your energy and your passion to each of your respective fields. Each of you is a change-maker, changing mindsets, educating people, raising funds for vital charities, building a sense of community for fellow students and so much more. Leading that change can sometimes go without receiving the praise and gratitude it truly deserves but I want to assure you that the Union of Students in Ireland will be forever grateful to you for all that you have done and will continue to do in the future.

We want to ensure we can raise awareness about the incredible work you have done so please make sure to join in on social media so post, tweet and retweet each other using #SAAI2020. Congratulate each other and celebrate together online

All that is left to say is I hope you enjoy the evening and I hope we will be back together in person soon.



Student Activist of the

Year

Kindly sponsored by Amnesty International

Aoife Hynes (MSU) Mair Kelly (UCC SU)

Padraig Durnin (QUB SU)

Vera Stojanovic (UCC SU)

Environmental and

Sustainability Activism

of the Year

Kindly sponsored by STAND **Ulster University SU** Niamh Guiry (UCC SU) **QUB SU Climate Action Group (QUB SU)** GMIT SU Mayo & GMIT Mayo Green

Student Media Outlet of the Year

Campus (GMIT SU)

The Motley (UCC SU) Trinity News (TCD SU) The University Times (TCD SU) What The Frack (UCC SU)

Charity Champion of the

Year

Kindly sponsored by The Wheel **UCC Cancer Society (UCC SU)** UCC SU **ITC SU** UCC Surgeon Noonan (UCC SU)

Individual **Contribution to**

Student Media

Donal McNamee (TCD SU) Emer Moreau (TCD SU) Niamh Guiry (UCC SU) Rachel O'Leary (TCD SU) Irene Valen De Oliviera (TU Dublin SU)

Cormac Watson (TCD SU)

Club/Society of the Year

UCC Cancer Society (UCC SU) UCC Failte Society (UCC SU) Maynooth Games Society (MSU) UCC Surgeon Noonan (UCC SU)

Welfare Campaign of the

Year

Kindly sponsored by Spunout.ie Period Poverty (UU SU) Lifting the Silence (ITS SU) SHAG (MSU) Love You, Be You (WIT SU)

Equality Campaign of the

Year

Kindly sponsored by AHEAD Period Poverty (ITC SU) Direct Provision Awareness (TU Dublin SU) University of Sanctuary (NUIG SU) Project Choice (QUB SU)

Education Campaign of the

Kindly sponsored by National Forum for the Enhancement of Teaching & Learning in Higher Education Exams? You Got This (TU Dublin SU) Refresh (TU Dublin SU) Education Week (WIT SU) Academic Rep Review (QUB SU)

International Student of the

Year

Kindly sponsored by ICOS Tom Miller (UCC SU) Marie Preller (UCC SU) Edward Ng (LYIT SU) Mansi Kesarwani (NUIG SU)









@USI.ie

Mature Student of the Year

Eithne Kavanagh (UCC SU) Laura Matthews (LYIT SU) Natalie O'Regan (UCC SU) Patrick Butler (CC SU)

An Gradam Eacht ar son na Gaeilge

Kindly sponsored by Conradh na Gaeilge **Cuallacht Cholmcille (MSU)** Éacht ar Son na Gaeilge (TCD SU) The University Times (TCD SU) Éigse na Tríonóide (TCD SU)

Part-Time Officer of the Year

Aine Keenan (MSU) Ryan Carey (TCD SU) Cliona Edwards (CC SU) Julian Nagi (MSU) Sean Smyth (DCU SU) Padraic Toomey (NUIG SU)

Full-Time Officer of the Year

David Condon (UCC SU) Amy Keatinge (TU Dublin SU) Ciara Kealey (UCC SU) Laura Beston (TCD SU) Ellen Fearon (QUB SU) Clare Austick (NUIG SU)

Student Representative of the Year

Kindly sponsored by QQI Anthony Lane (UCC SU) Chloe McNamara (DCU SU) Lesley Barrett (TU Dublin SU) Michael Upham (QUB SU) Nicole Carr (MSU) Réiltín Tynan (NUIG SU)

Outstanding Mental Health

Activist of the Year

Kindly sponsored by Samaritans Aoife Hynes (MSU) Emma Jane Kinsella (NUIG SU) Tara Ní Raghallaigh (ITS SU) Naoise Crowley (UCC SU)

Postgraduate Champion of the Year

Kindly sponsored by SIPTU Daniel Sogaolu (TU Dublin SU) Emma Nolan (UU SU) Cameron Keighron (NUIG SU) Gift Sotonye-Frank (QUB SU) Wendy O'Leary (WIT SU)

Access Champion of the Year

Kindly sponsored by FORSA Conor Doheny (MSU) UCC SU Ryan Lynch (MSU) **NUIG SU Laptop Scheme**

Small SU Team of the Year

NCI Dublin SU Stranmillis SU St Angela's College Sligo SU

Medium SU Team of the Year

Kindly sponsored by Williams & Co. Waterford Institute of Technology SU Cork Institute of Technology SU

Large SU Team of the Year

Kindly sponsored by Hammond Good Solicitors **TU Dublin SU UCC SU Queens Univerity Belfast SU**

A big thank you to all our wonderful sponsors...



























