USI is the national representative body for the 354,000 students in third level education on the Island of Ireland.  We are a membership organisation – our members are our affiliated Students’ Unions around Ireland, North and South.


USI is a democratic organisation. The supreme authority of the Union is the Congress, which is representative of each affiliated students’ union, apportioned according to the size of the student body in each union. Each union also sends one voting member to the National Council – the executive body of the organisation.


Northern Ireland

A trilateral arrangement exists between USI, the National Union of Students in the United Kingdom and NUS-USI, the Student Movement in Northern Ireland.  NUS-USI was formed in 1972 to ensure that all students in Northern Ireland could be members of the national union they feel best represents them.  Check out the NUS-USI Website


Our members

Our members are the students’ unions recognised by the colleges below.  Not every student body in Ireland is eligible for membership according to our constitution.  We refer to our members as ‘Member Organisations’ or MOs’.  Individual students gain their membership of USI through their membership of a local students’ union.  We refer to individual student members as ‘Ordinary Members’

Southern Region:

  • Waterford Institute of Technology
  • University College Cork
  • Cork Institute of Technology
  • Institute of Technology Tralee
  • Limerick Institute of  Technology
  • Limerick Schoolof Art & Design
  • Limerick Institute of Technology Tipperary
  • Carlow College
  • Institute of Technology Carlow
  • Templemore College of Further Education


Border, Midlands & Western Region:

  • National University of Ireland, Galway
  • Galway Mayo Institute of Technology
  • Galway Mayo Institute of Technology – Castlebar
  • Institute of Technology, Sligo
  • Letterkenny Institute of Technology
  • St.Angela’s College, Sligo
  • Athlone Institute of Technology
  • National University of Ireland,Maynooth
  • Dundalk Institute of Technology


Dublin Region:

  • Trinity College Dublin
  • Dublin City University
  • Dublin Institute of Technology
  • Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design & Technology
  • National College of Ireland
  • Institute of Technology, Tallaght
  • Institute of Technology Blanchardstown


Northern Region:

  • University of Ulster
  • Queen’s University, Belfast
  • St Mary’s University College, Belfast
  • Stranmillis University College, Belfast
  • Belfast Metropolitan College,
  • Southern Regional College,
  • South Eastern Regional College,
  • North Western Regional College
  • Northern Regional College
  • South Western Regional College



  • A ‘candidate member’ is a term of convenience which refers to a students’ union which has completed the process of democratically verifying their intention to join USI but which has not yet been ratified by the National Council.  That member has a right of participation and engagement within rules set by the USI President.


  • A ‘departing member’ is a term used to describe a member which has democratically verified their intention to leave USI but which is not engaged with USI. That member has declined the right of participation in the national union.

USI Branding Guidance

USI’s logo is a registered trade mark and may not be used without USI’s express written permission. USI Brand Guidelines.

Now you’ve read those carefully, please find the logos you need.  Please don’t stretch them.

USI Bank Details:

BANK: Bank of Ireland

ACN: The National Council of the Union of Students in Ireland
AC: 22117410
SC: 900017
IBAN: IE08 BOFI 9000 1722 1174 10
Branch: College Green, Dublin


  • President: Annie Hoey
  • Deputy President: Jack Leahy
  • VP Welfare: Cian Power
  • VP Equality and Citizenship: Síona Cahill
  • VP Campaigns: Dan Waugh
  • LU don Gaeilge: Maria Schäler
  • VP Border, Midlands and Western Region: Michael Kerrigan
  • VP Southern Region: Niamh Murtagh


  • General Manager: Ben Archibald
  • Administrator: Denise Glover
  • Commercial Services Executive: Eric Fitzgerald
  • National Student Housing Programme Co-ordinator: Karolina Pietkiewicz
  • National Student Engagement Programme Co-ordinator: Cat O’Driscoll
  • Public Affairs Intern: Ailish Logue


  • Julian de Spainn
  • Ciara Brennan
  • Siobhán Fearon

Finance Committee External Members

  • Christopher Newell (Chair)
  • Gary Redmond
  • Richard Hammond


Gareth I J Williams

Regulatory Information

The Union of Students in Ireland is an unincorporated entity and is neither registered as a company nor as a charity. It is a confederal organisation, created by and funded by Students’ Unions jointly through its National Council, which serves as the National Executive body of the organisation.

The Union’s structures include one incorporated entity: USIMS Ltd, a limited company which submits returns in accordance with the laws for regulation of limited companies.